Acrylic paintings of ultrasound scans

Ultrasound painting by Rebecca Jelbert, 2017

Ultrasound painting by Rebecca Jelbert, 2017

This weekend I painted the ultrasound portraits of two beautiful babies.

I love painting these type of pictures. They bring together my interest in medicine and biology, and also my passion for portraiture. It is a challenge to strike the right balance between texture and blank space, between anatomical accuracy and abstract movement, but the results can be rewarding.

My teenage son still has his little canvas up in his room, which goes to show that these images are somehow timeless. For me, the ultrasound image is the meeting point of the etherial and the cutting edge. These black and white scans concentrate the mind on composition, tone and movement, and are a complete change from my other work.

And now I am returning to my paints to work on something very different – a large abstract with strong colours. It has been under my bed, unfinished, for many many months but sometimes it can take years to develop a good abstract painting. Back to work.

About jellywalk

I am a professional artist who is happy to take commissions, be they portraits, paintings of baby ultrasound scans, houses, or pets... Please see my art website for contact details: www.RebeccaJelbert.co.uk. I have prints available for sale from www.Society6.com/RebeccaJelbert.
This entry was posted in Other painting work, Pregnancy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

