Jelbert 09/11/12 – Experiment with semi-abstract still lives

Recent experiments with still lives

I have been on holiday for two weeks in France (a late summer holiday!) and had time to experiment with some still life painting. I remembered to pack the odd assortment of material that I had bought with Mum at charity shops, and I bought a variety of fruit from   local markets etc. The children helped themselves, often not realising I was painting them, so I had to paint quickly!

The idea was to try and capture the movement that I could see in the composition and also the pattern that the fruit made on top of the material. I was interested in the way the fruit combined with the printed pattern, as well as the shapes and folds of the material. In the case of the tangerines below, I was also exploring ideas of 2D and 3D, and as the children inadvertently moved the fruit (and ate it!) I was left with the memory of the tangerines, like faint orange ‘ghosts’…

Masters in History of Art

For the last three weeks I have been getting up at 5:30 (even on holiday!) to fit in my studies for my new course. I’m really enjoying it and have my first deadline for handing in on Tuesday next week, so until I get this first literature review back, I won’t know if I’m on the right track.

Other distractions

Since coming back from France, I have also been doing some extra days at work (NHS work) so time is at a premium at the moment. On Tuesday I spent the day on a medical course, which coincided with me reading about the artist Kiki Smith that morning. Kiki Smith has made some really interesting sculptures and prints on the theme of the body and organs, and handling the anatomical model reminded me of a long-term wish of mine to paint some ‘real-life’ organs. The body is truly amazing and it’s such a shame that so much of it’s structure is hidden from the eye…

My mother is down for the weekend so we can talk about out art book together. We have both been very busy recently, but are determined to get some paintings together for our formal proposal to the publisher. I don’t want to leave it too long, but I also have a commission to paint, a picture of an old house. I love painting houses, but I’m not quite sure how I’m going to fit it in!

About jellywalk

I am a professional artist who is happy to take commissions, be they portraits, paintings of baby ultrasound scans, houses, or pets... Please see my art website for contact details: www.RebeccaJelbert.co.uk. I have prints available for sale from www.Society6.com/RebeccaJelbert.
This entry was posted in Art tips & Teaching, General, Other painting work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

