Jelbert 04/10/12 – thank you, and how I made this blog

Thank you for your comments

First, I would like to say a BIG thank you to everyone who has left comments and suggestions on my blog. I do read them all but because of a weird technical problem, all the comments are now attaching themselves to the sub heading of this blog, instead of to the individual blog entries. This means the comments don’t show up on my blog after I have accepted them – but hopefully Adam will get it sorted soon…

How I created this blog

Many people have asked me how I created this blog and how I got it to look like this. The answer is really easy – I use ‘WordPress’, which is free, and chose one of the standard themes for the look of the blog when I originally set it up.

To make my personal graphic header, I imported one of the graphic headers (the red one above) that was made available with the graphic theme I chose, and simply altered it in Photoshop. I added further layers of images, making sure that the dimensions of the header graphic remained unchanged,  and then imported it into the blog – if I can do it, anyone can!

I try to post every Friday, or sometimes late on Thursday night!

Link to WordPress: http://www.wordpress.com

Link for info on WordPress themes, hosting and how to get started: http://www.artofblog.com

And here’s a link on how to write a good blog: http://www.problogger.net/how-to-write-great-blog-content/

Above are three of my illustrations for my Tales by Torchlight stories. I have had some rejections back from literary agents but I’m still sending out manuscripts and photos of my illustrations. It’s so difficult to stay positive, though, and sometimes I do wonder what I’m doing, spending so much time writing personal letters to agents, and filling up more folios with crazy paintings! The style of illustration is obviously a little unusual but surely there are people out there who appreciate something a bit different…

          

About jellywalk

I am a professional artist who is happy to take commissions, be they portraits, paintings of baby ultrasound scans, houses, or pets... Please see my art website for contact details: www.RebeccaJelbert.co.uk. I have prints available for sale from www.Society6.com/RebeccaJelbert.
This entry was posted in General, Technical. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

