Jelbert 06/09/12 – Give me a break!

Abstracts from the past

I sent off a small number of query letters recently about a series of children’s books I’m writing and I actually heard back from one of them, asking for more information. Even though it may not lead to an offer of representation, I’m pleased to have had a positive response. The wait is SO difficult, though; I just want to know what they think, one way or the other!

On the web, published authors say never give up, so I’ll try to stay positive and hope that something will take root. But it’s not through lack of trying! For the Master’s I’m starting in October (MPhil in History of Art), I came up with the title ‘A growing body of work: the portrayal of pregnancy in 20th century Art’. I did contact publishers about writing a book on the subject, but although I got quite a few positive comments, they didn’t have the capacity in their schedules for such a book – pitty!

In the past, I had some interest from a Orchard Books for one of my children’s stories, but unfortunately it didn’t make it to publication. This whole process of trying to get something published is full of frustration, especially for an impatient person like me.  At the moment I consider myself very lucky to be working on a couple of landscape commissions but due to the recession, work in galleries is not selling well. I’m just so glad I’ve got my part-time day job to keep me going at the moment.

Being a creative person, I believe you have to make your own luck and keep trying to open up possibilities. Another recent endeavour was to email some images of my paintings to a card company but again, there has been no definite offer as yet. Perhaps I should try and look on the bright side – at least I haven’t had an actual ‘no’ back from anyone – or perhaps it’s just a stunned silence – what the hell is this? Please someone, just give me a break…!!

About jellywalk

I am a professional artist who is happy to take commissions, be they portraits, paintings of baby ultrasound scans, houses, or pets... Please see my art website for contact details: www.RebeccaJelbert.co.uk. I have prints available for sale from www.Society6.com/RebeccaJelbert.
This entry was posted in Agents, General, Other painting work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jelbert 06/09/12 – Give me a break!

  1. Lauren Tave says:

    I simply want to mention I am new to blogs and really enjoyed this web page. Very likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You amazingly come with really good posts. Thank you for sharing your webpage.

  2. I just want to tell you that I am new to weblog and really enjoyed you’re blog site. Very likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You definitely have terrific article content. Thanks for sharing with us your website.

Leave a Reply

