Jelbert 17/08/12 – Juggling painting, children and books!

 

Hampshire Open Studios, 18th – 27th August (11am – 5pm)

An exhibition of original paintings by Wendy, Rosalind and Rebecca Jelbert

At: 25 Richmond Lane, Romsey, Hampshire SO51 7LB

At the moment, with the children at home from school, I have so much to do, I don’t really know where to start. I have two commissions to do (landscapes), I have to prepare some paintings and biography etc for a teacher who is doing an A level project about me next term, I’m trying very hard to find a literary agent and I’m finishing some of my children’s stories before I start my Master’s in October – that’s on top of my part-time NHS job!

I like to be busy, but this is crazy. My husband has escaped on his motorbike (alone) for a couple of days to camp in Wales and I must admit, I have fallen back on the DVD fairy to keep the children busy for a bit, on this wet wet wet day in Bristol.

I am still waiting to hear back from the literary agent I wrote to and I’m wondering how long to leave it before sending off a letter to another agent. I have been writing and rewriting my query letter, along with the summaries of the story ideas for the series – it’s so hard to keep it concise, but the example letters on http://agentqueryconnect.com/index.php?/forum/25-aq-connect-examples-of-successful-queries/ have been really useful, and they remind me that some people do actually get a positive response.

Last week we had a great camping trip to the New Forrest and I actually managed to sit down long enough to read a whole book. In camping chairs, surrounded by meandering horses and cows, I read ‘One Day’ and my eldest daughter read ‘Jane Eyre’ – fantastic. Although I had promised not to do any work there, I did have an idea for a new story and had to make furtive notes on my small, trusty notebook!

For details of other ‘Hampshire Open Studios’ (18/08 – 27/08) please contact Pete Gilbert on 01725 512333, email: pgilbert675@btinternet.com.

About jellywalk

I am a professional artist who is happy to take commissions, be they portraits, paintings of baby ultrasound scans, houses, or pets... Please see my art website for contact details: www.RebeccaJelbert.co.uk. I have prints available for sale from www.Society6.com/RebeccaJelbert.
This entry was posted in Agents, General, Other painting work. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jelbert 17/08/12 – Juggling painting, children and books!

  1. Thank you for every other informative site. Where else could I am getting that type of information written in such a perfect manner? I’ve a undertaking that I am just now running on, and I have been at the glance out for such information.

  2. I simply want to tell you that I am beginner to weblog and absolutely savored this blog site. More than likely I’m planning to bookmark your website . You certainly have terrific well written articles. Thanks for sharing your website page.

  3. I simply want to tell you that I am newbie to blogs and seriously liked this web blog. Probably I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You absolutely come with really good articles. Regards for sharing with us your web site.

Leave a Reply

