Jelbert 10/08/12 – second attempt at a query letter

After sending off my first letter to a literary agent a couple of weeks ago, I have done some more research on the web and am in the middle of a rewrite! I feel a little deflated, after finding out that I hadn’t written the perfect query letter, but I will soldier on…

I found a really useful web site, ‘AgentQuery.com’, that has some invaluable information:

http://agentquery.com/writer_hq.aspx

Make sure your letter is not more than one page

Do not write more than 250 – 300 words in total

Set out the letter in three sections:

  1) ‘The hook’ – start with a sentence that sums up your book in a clear, dynamic  way. This site by Rachelle Gardner has some good examples of one-sentence summaries:

http://www.rachellegardner.com/2010/06/the-one-sentence-summary/

  2) A short synopsis of the book

  3) The writer’s biography

Other important things to remember are to put your title at the beginning, to write your word count, to set the right professional tone (which should reflect your story) and to thank the agent for taking the time to read your letter.

Party time for some – for examples of successful query letters see this site:

http://agentqueryconnect.com/index.php?/forum/25-aq-connect-examples-of-successful-queries/

I’m so glad I found these sites before sending off a another rambling letter. I have a good feeling about my new improved version – for now, at least…

About jellywalk

I am a professional artist who is happy to take commissions, be they portraits, paintings of baby ultrasound scans, houses, or pets... Please see my art website for contact details: www.RebeccaJelbert.co.uk. I have prints available for sale from www.Society6.com/RebeccaJelbert.
This entry was posted in Agents. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jelbert 10/08/12 – second attempt at a query letter

  1. this was a really quality post. i wasn’t aware of the many ripples and depth to this story until i surfed here through google! great job. lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

  2. I simply want to mention I am just new to weblog and truly savored your website. Likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You absolutely come with exceptional stories. Thanks a bunch for sharing your web site.

Leave a Reply

