Jelbert 28/07/12 – inspired by Olympic ceremony!

After seeing the Olympic opening ceremony last night, I was inspired to make an illustration for my book this morning about the English countryside! I got up at 5:30 and found myself cutting up pieces of coloured paper and a couple of woollen jumpers from my drawer to create a patchwork of coloured fields. Later, when my children eventually surfaced, I had to explain that they were not to cut up their clothes – only grownups are allowed to do such things.

Being a Hampshire lass at heart, I love the English countryside and have painted many a green picture in my time – see trees and fluffies above. Danny Boyle’s vision of Great Britain was eccentric and bazar, but I did love the spectacle and the amazing creativity behind it all. My step sister actually grew all the grass that was used in the opening ceremony and, despite recent worries about excessive rain fall and floods, it all worked out in the end – I’m very proud of her!

And there was even a celebration of children’s story writing, with J K Rowling, children reading stories by torchlight and big scary monsters – fantastic stuff! I still have a picture of children jumping up on their beds, doing somersaults in the air and I may well use that in a story sometime – you never know when inspiration will hit!

I still have bits of jumper all over the table so I’m off to clear up, and I’m feeling brave enough to try out my second batch of home made wine…

About jellywalk

I am a professional artist who is happy to take commissions, be they portraits, paintings of baby ultrasound scans, houses, or pets... Please see my art website for contact details: www.RebeccaJelbert.co.uk. I have prints available for sale from www.Society6.com/RebeccaJelbert.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jelbert 28/07/12 – inspired by Olympic ceremony!

  1. Remarkable things here. I am very glad to look your article. Thanks a lot and I’m looking ahead to touch you. Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

Leave a Reply

