Jelbert 08/07/12 – iBookstore release date frustration!

I just discovered something really odd about the release dates on the iTunes iBookstore.

My book was released on Apple’s iTunes iBookstore last month but unfortunately the release date was showing up on screen as 2010. I contacted iTunes Support who told me that there was great news – the date would be changed and the book would go into the ‘New and Noteworthy’ section of the iBookstore.

Adam check on the iBookstore today and noticed that in this ‘New and Noteworthy’ section, if you search by release date the books that come up have release dates that are set at some date in the future, even though the books are downloadable now. How can this be? This means that all the ‘New and Noteworthy’ books with the correct dates are so far back after doing this search that customers will never get to them.

When I searched in the children’s section of the iBookstore in this way, the first book to come up had a release date of 2025! Why is Apple allowing this? These incorrect dates are distorting the searches that potential customers are carrying out, and it’s extremely frustrating for authors who have the correct dates attached to their books.

I can’t remember being asked for the release date/ published date when I uploaded my book, and indeed any eBook author will know that this date will not be certain at the point of upload  as Apple can take a long time to give your work the all clear.

I was really excited to hear my book will appear in the ‘New and Noteworthy’ section, but now I feel slightly depressed by the whole thing.

About jellywalk

I am a professional artist who is happy to take commissions, be they portraits, paintings of baby ultrasound scans, houses, or pets... Please see my art website for contact details: www.RebeccaJelbert.co.uk. I have prints available for sale from www.Society6.com/RebeccaJelbert.
This entry was posted in Technical. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jelbert 08/07/12 – iBookstore release date frustration!

  1. I simply couldn’t go away your site before suggesting that I actually loved the standard information a person provide in your visitors? Is gonna be back incessantly in order to investigate cross-check new posts

  2. Thank you so much for providing individuals with such a wonderful possiblity to read critical reviews from this blog. It really is so terrific plus packed with a good time for me and my office peers to search the blog at minimum thrice in one week to study the fresh items you will have. And indeed, Im usually happy with the magnificent hints you serve. Selected 2 facts in this posting are completely the most beneficial I have had.

  3. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I¡¯m impressed! Extremely helpful info specially the last part I care for such information a lot. I was seeking this certain information for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  4. I just want to mention I’m beginner to blogging and site-building and absolutely liked you’re blog site. Very likely I’m planning to bookmark your site . You absolutely come with incredible well written articles. Appreciate it for sharing your web-site.

Leave a Reply

