Jelbert 07/07/12 – Is it a Banksy?

In Bristol there is a lot of good street art/ graffiti and on my way to work I cycle past the two Banksy pieces above, which puts a smile on my face in the mornings. At the time of the jubilee, just around the corner from these two, a new piece of street art appeared. It was actually placed over a previous Banksy picture that had been vandalised. So what do we think – Banksy or not Banksy?

As a child of the 70s, and a fan of David Bowie, I love it, whoever it was. I find the creativity and humour of street art really inspiring and am always looking out for interesting ideas and new styles. I’m hoping that they’ll translate well into a painting as I plan on using graffiti in at least two future illustrations.

Looking on the web, I just found a photo of a Banksy picture in Boston that combines a child’s drawing with a realistic picture – and I thought I had come up with something new – doh!  (http://www.banksy-prints.com/2010/05/banksy-boston-street-art/)

About jellywalk

I am a professional artist who is happy to take commissions, be they portraits, paintings of baby ultrasound scans, houses, or pets... Please see my art website for contact details: www.RebeccaJelbert.co.uk. I have prints available for sale from www.Society6.com/RebeccaJelbert.
This entry was posted in Other painting work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

