Jelbert 30/06/12 – my first book is out!

My last entry was back in 2010 but I have been beavering away since then, painting in my spare time and writing more stories in my favourite local cafe. Many capuchinos later, and with much blood, sweat and tears spilt, I have managed to finish and upload my first story to Apple’s iTunes iBookstore. I finished my PGCE teaching course but went back to work for the NHS part-time to support myself through this project.

Over the last two years, I spent ages trying to decide on a name for the book but eventually decided upon ‘Tales by Torchlight’ for the overall series and ‘Tales by Torchlight: Shoe Zoo’ for the first story. Back in 2010, Adam and I started to create the book as an app but it was taking ages and Adam had other things to do. In the end I used Apple’s ‘iBooks Author’, which was great. Before the book could be published, I had to get an American IRS tax code and an ISBN number, amongst other things, but with the help of lovely Megan at iTunes Support, I managed to jump through all the necessary technical hoops – phew!

My initial excitement has been followed by the realisation that I now have to find a way to let people know that my little book is out there, sitting alone on a virtual bookshelf, waiting to be bought and read. This is my next big challenge…

About jellywalk

I am a professional artist who is happy to take commissions, be they portraits, paintings of baby ultrasound scans, houses, or pets... Please see my art website for contact details: www.RebeccaJelbert.co.uk. I have prints available for sale from www.Society6.com/RebeccaJelbert.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

